Scewo runs for those who can't

Together with wheelchair users we stood at the starting line of the Wings for Life World Run and drove/run for a good cause. In this report you will learn how this works in times of social distancing.

Natalie Covos – 06.05.2020

Scewo rides the World at Wings for Life

The participation in the Wings for Live World Run was a matteof our hearts 💗. Weeks before, we started looking for additional members to join our «Scewo rides the world» team. Fortunately, many people followed our call. So, in the end, we lined up at the virtual starting line as a team of 16. We were especially happy that three wheelchair users joined us; it is our intention to bring wheelchair users and pedestrians together to experience adventures together.

Together but seperately

In times of social distancing, racing in big groups is not possible – but racing on your own is. Via an app, we all stayed connected with each other. The app regularly told us how many kilometers we had already achieved and served as an ideal motivational boost to keep going. 💪 Nervousness increased as the virtual “broom wagon” approached. Because if it passes you, you are out of the race.

Our team ran a total of 217 kilometers. Quite an impressive performance, right? 😉 With our kilometers, we collected around 400 Euros, which will be donated entirely to spinal cord research.

Live on social media

Of course, we reported live about this event on our channels. Thanks to modern technology we had the chance to talk to two wheelchair users Boris and Barbara, who had joined our team. We asked them about their experience after the race. They had a lot of fun. We are already looking forward to being physically together at the starting line in another year. Would you also like to participate in this race with us in the future? Then subscribe to our newsletter and follow us on social media, so you do not miss it when it is time again. 😉

About Wings for Live (World Run)

Wings for Life is a non-profit, state-approved foundation for spinal cord research. Its goal is to find a cure for paraplegia. The Wings for Live World Run was first held in 2014 and now takes place annually. This year more than 77’000 people took part and ran for all those who can not. 100% of all entry fees and donations go directly to spinal cord research and contribute significantly to its research progress.

Do you like this post? Then share it with your loved ones.
You might also be interested in these articles

Scewo läuft für die, die es nicht können

Wir gingen mit Rollstuhlfahrern an die Startlinie des Wings for Life World Run und fuhren/liefen für die gute Sache. Wie das in Zeiten von Social Distancing geht, erzählen wir Dir in diesem Beitrag.

Natalie Covos – 06.05.2020

Scewo rides the World at Wings for Life Run

Die Teilnahme am Wings for Live World Run war eine Herzensangelegenheit. 💗 Schon Wochen zuvor starteten wir die Suche nach zusätzlichen Mitglieder für unserem “Scewo rides the world” Team auf. Unserem Aufruf folgten erfreulicherweise viele Personen. So kam es, dass wir als 16-köpfiges Team die virtuelle Startlinie antraten. Dass drei Rollstuhlfahrer mit dabei waren, freute uns besonders; schreiben wir uns doch auf die Fahne, vermehrt Fussgänger und Rollstuhlfahrer zusammenzubringen um gemeinsam Neues zu erleben.

Gemeinsam und doch jeder für sich

In Zeiten von Social Distancing gab es keinen Volkslauf, sondern jeder war für sich unterwegs. Via App auf unseren Smartphones blieben wir aber alle miteinander verbunden. Die App teilte regelmässig mit, wie viele Kilometer man schon geschafft hatte und diente als idealer Motivationsschub um doch noch einen weiteren Kilometer durchzuhalten. 💪 Die Nervosität stieg natürlich immer mehr, als sich der virtuelle «Besenwagen», näherte, was das Ende des Rennens bedeute.

Unser Team legte insgesamt stolze 217 Kilometer zurück. Eine Leistung, die sich durchaus sehen lässt, oder? 😉 Und das Beste: Mit unseren Kilometern sammelten wir rund 400 Euro, welche vollumfänglich der Rückenmarksforschung zu Gute kommen.

Live mit dabei auf Social Media

Natürlich berichteten wir immer wieder live über den Verlauf des Rennens. Dank heutiger Technik konnten wir die beiden Rollstuhlfahrer Boris und Barbara, die sich zu unserem Team gesellt hatten, nach dem Lauf über ihre Eindrücke befragen. Sie hatten genauso viel Spass. Wir freuen uns bereits, in einem anderen Jahr physisch mit ihnen an den Start zu gehen. Möchtest Du in Zukunft auch mit uns an diesem Rennen dabei sein? Dann abonniere unseren Newsletter und folge uns in den sozialen Medien, damit Du nicht verpasst, wenn es wieder so weit ist. 😉

Über Wings for Live (World Run)

Wings for Life ist eine gemeinnützige, staatlich anerkannte Stiftung für Rückenmarksforschung. Ihr Ziel ist eine Heilung für Querschnittslähmung zu finden. Der Wings for Live World Run wurde 2014 das erste Mal durchgeführt und findet nun jährlich statt. Dieses Jahr nahmen über 77’000 Personen Teil und rannten für all diejenigen, die es nicht können. Alle Einnahmen der Startplätze und weiteren Spenden fliessen zu 100 % in die Stiftung und tragen wesentlich zu dessen Forschungsfortschritte bei.

Gefällt Dir dieser Beitrag? Dann teil ihn mit Deinen Liebsten.
Diese Beiträge könnten Dich auch interessieren